HACA News
Beware of deceptive or misleading Web Sites!
- Post 13 March 2009
- Last Updated on 11 July 2012
- By Ron Dion
- Hits: 2959
www.section8programs.com
This website, which identifies itself as the “Section 8 Consolidation Program”, requires you to pay a fee to apply for Section 8 or Public Housing. This site is not affiliated with any Housing Authority or the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). You never need to pay a fee to apply for any federally subsidized program. In order to file a complaint against the “Section 8 Consolidation Program” website, contact the Chicago Better Business Bureau at:
330 N. Wabash, Suite 2006
Chicago, IL 60611-7621
Phone: (312) 832-0500
Fax: (312) 832-9985
E-mail:
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Web: www.chicago.bbb.org
For contact information for other Bay Area, and Northern and Central California Housing Authorities, go here. For HUD rental assistance programs in other areas of the country, please go here.
http://bailout.hu-gov.us/
This is a deceptive website posing as the site of the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). This phony site tries to dupe people into giving out personal information like their social security number and bank account information. (This is a practice known as “phishing”.) The site tries to make itself look like an “official us government website”. Don’t be fooled!
If anyone asks you about it, advise them to stay away. Federal authorities have begun investigating the site.

