The next regular Housing Commission meeting is scheduled for:

Wednesday, October 13, 2021, at 8:00 a.m.

Due to the COVID-19 public health emergency, the Housing Commission meetings are teleconferenced to protect the public’s health and prevent the disease and its variants from spreading in our communities.    The public can still attend and participate in the Housing Commission meetings through Zoom or by telephone.  Here are the instructions on how to access this meeting:

  • Join Zoom meeting here:
  • Use your computer or laptop and go to and then enter Meeting ID:  884 6009 5724
  • Use the Zoom app on your mobile device such as a cell phone, iPad or tablet, tap on “Join Meeting,” then enter Meeting ID:  884 6009 5724
  • To call in to the meeting dial 1-888-788-0099 then when prompted, enter Meeting ID:  884 6009 5724


Members of the public can email their public comment(s) to  Public comments on a matter that is not on the Housing Commission’s agenda will be read during the “Public Comment” period of the meeting.  Public comments on a specific agenda item should include the person’s name and the agenda item number.  The public comments submitted by email will be read when the Housing Commission Chairperson calls for public comments on the agenda item.  The public may also voice their public comments during the meeting by joining the meeting on Zoom or by telephone.  If a member of the public is submitting their comments on Zoom or by telephone, there is a time limit of 3 minutes for each public speaker.  The Chairperson has the discretion to further limit this time if warranted by the number of public speakers who wish to address the Housing Commission.

Thank you for your understanding and flexibility during the COVID-19 public health emergency. If you have any questions, please email or call (510)727-8511.

The HACA Housing Commission meeting agenda packets  can be accessed by clicking below:

2010 -2021 Meeting Agenda Packets >>>

To request a copy of meeting agenda packets prior to 2010, please email your request to:

Delegation of Powers

The Housing Authority of the County of Alameda (“HACA”) was established by the Alameda County Board of Supervisors (“the Board”) on August 15, 1968, pursuant to Section 34240 of the Health and Safety Code of the State of California.  The Board served as HACA’s board of commissioners until November 29, 1977 when it adopted Ordinance #77-94 and established a Housing Commission.

The HACA Housing Commission is responsible for policy direction for an array of functions including HUD program administration, reporting and contracting; procurement and contracting for services and supplies, including construction, acquisition, and renovation of HACA-owned housing units; personnel functions, including negotiations with the union representing non-management employees; HUD program operational issues; budget approval; and audit approval.

There are 12 seats on the Housing Commission: one for a representative from each of the nine cities in HACA’s jurisdiction, one for a representative of the county’s unincorporated areas,  one for a representative of HACA tenants and one for a representative of HACA’s senior tenants (62 years or older).   The Housing Commissioners are generally members of the city council of the city they represent, however, this is not a requirement and from time to time, some cities have appointed persons who are not council members.  Housing Commissioners serve four-year terms and may serve a total of three terms (i.e., 12 years).

Housing Commissioners

Albany Peggy McQuaid (Chairperson)
Dublin Shawn Kumagai
Emeryville Scott Donahue
Fremont Yang Shao (Vice Chairperson)
Hayward Sara Lamnin
Newark Michael Hannon
Pleasanton Monith Ilavarasan
San Leandro Pete Ballew
Senior Tenants Andrew Serna
Tenants Angela Finley
Unincorporated Areas Mark Gerry
Union City Pat Gacoscos

Housing Commission Correspondence

Mail to:

Housing Authority of the County of Alameda
Attention:  Melissa Taesali, Housing Commission Clerk
22941 Atherton Street
Hayward, California  94541-6633

Recent News