Announcement and Public Notice (Updated 9/28/2021)

HACA is pleased to announce the availability of a limited number of Emergency Housing Vouchers (EHVs) awarded through the American Recovery Plan Act of 2021.

Who may be Eligible?  The EHV Program is targeted to serve individuals and families in one or more of the following categories:

  • homelessness;
  • at risk of experiencing homelessness;
  • fleeing, or attempting to flee, domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, stalking, or human trafficking; or
  • recently homeless or having high risk of housing instability.

Alameda County Coordinated Entry will refer families to Emergency Housing Vouchers based on the prioritization determined by Alameda County’s Continuum of Care.  HACA is not taking direct applications.

How can I Learn about Housing Resources?   Alameda County will directly refer EHV applicants to HACA from their Coordinated Entry System (CES). There are a limited number of EHVs.  The County has already identified the families that may receive these vouchers and it is unlikely any newly assessed families will be served by EHVs.

However, EHV is just one of several County resources for families experiencing homelessness.  For anyone who is homeless or at risk of becoming homeless, connecting with 211 or a Housing Resource Center (HRC) is a necessary starting point for all homelessness services available in Alameda County, including a possible referral to permanent housing for those with the highest need.  Click on the Alameda County HRC button below to view details about access points of information.

EHV Payment Standards

HACA’s Emergency Housing Voucher (EHV) Payment Standards are different than HACA’s payment standards for its Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher program. Please click the button below to view the EHV Payment Standards.

Recent News