Click HERE for more information about applying for housing assistance.

The Housing Authority of the County of Alameda (HACA) operates the programs listed below in much of Alameda County.  The programs are administered by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).  They provide rental housing or rental assistance for low-income families, the elderly, people with disabilities, and others. To learn more about each Section 8 program, click on the program name.

The Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program (HCVP) (Assistance follows the family if it moves)

Over 7,000 families and landlords participate in the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program (HCVP) that HACA administers throughout its jurisdiction.

The Project-Based Voucher Program (PBV)(Assistance ends if the family moves during the first year)

HACA provides 342 units of Project-Based assistance in ten developments in Castro Valley, Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward and Union City.

The Section 8 Moderate Rehabilitation Program(Assistance ends if the family moves)

HACA provides 92 units of Section 8 Moderate Rehabilitation assistance in a number of developments in Hayward, and one in the Emeryville.

HACA owns housing in developments in Emeryville and Union City, including:

  • Emeryville
    • Emery Glen, a 36-unit family development;
  • Union City
    • Mission View, a 36-unit family development

Click HERE for information about applying for this program.

See also Other Housing Resources for contact information for nearby Housing Authorities and other housing resources.

Recent News